Climate Change Risk Assessment Presentation

Presented by the Dr. Aaron Strong, Ravena Pernanand, Rachel Pike and Abby Roller
New Hartford, December 4, 2019 — The Town of New Hartford Climate Smart Task Force is pleased to announce the public release and presentation of the Town of New Hartford Climate Change Risk Assessment. The assessment was prepared by Hamilton College Professor Dr. Aaron Strong and students Ravena Pernanand, Abigail Roller and Rachel Pike with support from the Arthur Levitt Center for Public Affairs at Hamilton College. The presentation will take place on Monday, December 9th, at 7:00PM at the Town of New Hartford Municipal Building, located at “The Orchards” 8635 Clinton St., New Hartford, NY 13413.

The presenters will share the findings of the recently completed Climate Change Risk Assessment. The assessment identifies the hazards that will result from climate change, the areas in which New Hartford faces exposure to these hazards, and the ability of our community to respond to the effects of climate change.

The Risk Assessment was prepared after Dr. Strong and his students spoke with the Town of New Hartford Climate Smart Task Force to identify areas of concern. The Assessment describes the predicted changes in temperature and precipitation in the Town under different emissions scenarios. It also details how these changes will affect public health, agriculture and flooding in the Town.

Task force coordinator Frank DuRoss Jr. states: “Climate change will pose significant risks to the community of New Hartford. This Risk Assessment will help guide our Task Force and the Town as we plan for the future and consider ways that we can improve our communities resilience to climate change.”

Following the presentation there will be an opportunity for questions and comments. The New Hartford Climate Change Task Force would also like to gather feedback from residents as to what concerns they have regarding climate change.

The NY State Department of Environmental Conservation and several other NY State agencies established the Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program in 2009. The program awards the CSC certification to communities that complete a series of mandatory and optional actions as detailed on the Climate Smart Communities website ( Depending on the actions completed communities can be awarded bronze and silver designations.

For more information about the task force please visit the task force website at or follow on Facebook.

About the Town of New Hartford Climate Smart Community Task Force

The New Hartford Climate Smart Task Force was created by the New Hartford Town Board in July of 2018 with the goal of achieving NYS DEC certification as a Climate Smart Community. The Task Force is currently composed of 6 members appointed by the Town Board: Frank DuRoss Jr., Lisa Smigle, Judith Jerome, Margaret Reilly, Adrianne Greer and Brian Hansen. The committee is working on a variety of actions related to climate change, including: education, outreach, and reducing greenhouse gas emissions.